20200509_210933_0000.png
64art reproduction0725.jpg

"The last days of Mr. Szeto Wah" (The last days of Mr. Szeto Wah). The fiberglass relief sculpture, 2.4 meters high and 1.2 meters wide, was created in 2011.

The whole work is divided into three levels: the first level is Mr. Situ Hua and the Hong Kong affiliates. Mr. Situ Hua holds the microphone in one hand and squeezes his fist on his knees. He sits firmly in a wheelchair. A partial scene of protesting with a fist presented by a character. The second level is the "Goddess of Democracy" and "Relief of the Tiananmen Square Massacre on June 4th". The center of the picture is the statue of the Goddess of Democracy holding a torch. On the left is the martial law soldier who suppressed students, and on the right is the banner with the word "June 4th". The third level is the clock tower at Tongluowan Plaza in Hong Kong. The pointer is placed at the moment Mr. Situ Hua sat in front of the clock tower at 12:15. It records the last moment of Mr. Situ Hua’s painstaking effort for democracy.

Szeto Wah (1931-2011), known as Uncle Hua. Before late for the Hong Kong Democratic Party whip, and " the Alliance " Chairman, has been hailed Hong Kong democrats patriarch and spiritual leader.

After the June 4th Incident in 1989, the CCP government bloodyly suppressed the pro-democracy movement and arrested student leaders and pro-democracy activists. In Hong Kong, Szeto Wah, who founded the Alliance launched a code-named " Operation Yellowbird " (OperationSiskin / Operation Yellow Bird) of the rescue operation, rescue the Baiyu bit is wanted by the CCP persecution of student leaders and other pro-democracy activists Related parties fled from mainland China. He described the "June 4th Incident" as the darkest time in human history. It also made him see the true face of the Chinese Communist Party. He used tanks and machine guns to treat unarmed students and people. "The core of the Chinese Communist Party is the power first. It treats all infringements. People, kill them," he also claimed that his ultimate goal is to end the one-party dictatorship and build a democratic China.

Mr. Situ Hua was also the soul of the June 4th mourning activities such as the "Victoria Park June 4th Candlelight Gala " in Hong Kong. Until his death, he insisted on "Don't forget June 4th" and " Rehabilitate June 4th ", hoping that the Chinese nation will embark on a broad road.

Before the events commemorating the 21st anniversary of June 4th in Hong Kong in 2010, the Hong Kong government ordered the confiscation of June 4th sculptures and refused entry to Mr. Chen Weiming. On the day of the June 4th event, Mr. Situ Hua appeared on the streets of Causeway Bay to give a speech while suffering from cancer. His expression was very serious. He said that the Hong Kong government confiscated June 4th sculptures, something that had never happened in 21 years. There was a great protest. Mr. Situ Hua's resolute and fearless figure and words and deeds in the fight for Chinese democracy brought shock and deep impression to the sculptor. In order to mourn him, Chen Weiming selected a representative picture of Mr. Situ Hua in a wheelchair in front of the June 4th statue. He said that Uncle Hua was a warrior who was fighting for China’s democracy and safeguarding Hong Kong’s freedom. We should be comrades, we are his followers, he left like this, we always have to leave something for him. Situ Hua’s greatest contribution is that he made people remember June 4th. In 2010, when we held the commemoration of the 21st anniversary of the Tiananmen Massacre in Hong Kong from all walks of life, we saw the participation of the younger generations of the post-90s and post-80s generations. This is exactly the educational role played by Situ Huawei in Hong Kong society. Compared with the mainland authorities using fake history to educate the next generation, and because of such "fake", no one in mainland China knows what happened 20 years after the June 4th Incident. There is a very big contrast between the two. "Some heroes give people a radiant feeling, but Uncle Hua is another typical example of humility and approachability. I think that a true educator is not radiant on the surface, but really plays a big role in the heart. "​

页面背景.jpg

《司徒华先生最后的日子》(The last days of Mr.Szeto Wah)。玻璃钢浮雕,高2.4米、宽1.2米,创作于2011年。

          整件作品分为三个层次:第一个层次是司徒华先生和港支联人士在一起,司徒华先生一手持麦克风,一手捏着拳搁在膝盖,稳坐在轮椅上,后面是由五个人物呈现出来的挥拳抗议的一个局部场面。第二个层次“民主女神像”和“六四天安门大屠杀浮雕”,画面中心是擎着火炬的民主女神像,左面是镇压学生的戒严军人,右面是“六四”二字的横幅。第三个层次是香港铜罗湾广场的钟楼,指针放在司徒华先生坐在钟楼前面的那一刻,12点15分,纪录着司徒华先生为民主呕心沥血的最后时刻。

        司徒华(Szeto Wah,1931-2011),人称华叔。已故前为香港民主党党鞭及“支联会”主席,被喻为香港民主派元老及精神领袖。

          1989“六四事件”后中共政府血腥镇压民运,并大肆搜捕学运领袖和民运人士。司徒华等人在香港创立的支联会发起一个代号名为“黄雀行动” (OperationSiskin/Operation Yellow Bird)的拯救行动,营救了百馀位被中共通缉、迫害的学运领袖、民运份子等相关人士逃离中国大陆。他形容“六四事件”是人类史上最黑暗的时间,亦令他看清中国共产党的真面目,用坦克车机关枪对待手无寸铁的学生与人民,“中共核心,是权力第一,对所有侵权的人,格杀勿论”, 他并声称,其终极目标,是要结束一党专政,建设民主中国。

          司徒华先生也是香港“维园六四烛光晚会”等六四悼念活动的灵魂人物,直至去世他一直坚持“勿忘六四”“平反六四”,期望中华民族由此走上康庄大道。

        2010年香港各界纪念“六四”21周年活动前,港府下令没收六四雕塑作品,并拒绝陈维明先生入境。“六四”活动当天,司徒华先生在身患癌症情况下,现身铜锣湾街头进行演说,他表情非常严肃,对于港府没收六四雕塑之举,为21年来从未发生的事情,他表示出极大的抗议。司徒华先生为争取中国民主留下坚毅无畏的身影和言行给雕塑家带来震撼和深刻印象。为了悼念他,陈维明选取司徒华先生当时坐着轮椅在六四塑像前的一个具有代表性的画面,他说,华叔是一位为争取中国民主与维护香港自由而奔走的勇士,在精神上我们应该是同道,我们是他的追随者,他这样走了,我们总要为他留下些什么。论司徒华最大功劳,是他让人们记住了六四。我们在2010年香港各界举行六四21周年纪念活动中,看到‘九零后’与‘八零后’年轻一代前来参与,这正是司徒华为香港社会起到的教育作用。相对于大陆当局以假历史教育下一代,也因为这样的“假”,导致大陆内地在六四事件20年以后,无人知道当时事件经过,两者之间是非常大的反差。“有些英雄给人光芒四射的感觉,华叔则是谦和与平易近人的另一典型。我想,真正的教育家不是表面的光芒四射,而是从内心真正给人起到很大作用。”​

© 2021 by Liberty Sculpture Park