20200509_210513_0000.png
unnamed.png
64art reproduction0769.jpg
64art reproduction0771.jpg

"Liberty Goddess Statue" ("Liberty Goddess Statue"), a round sculpture, is an artist's creation based on the June 4th Democracy Statue. The first work was created in 2010 and is collected by the Chinese University of Hong Kong; the second statue is in the collection of Ashfield Uniting Church in Sydney, 3.2 meters high; the third statue in the Liberty Sculpture Park is the third statue created by Chen Weiming , With a total height of 6.4 meters.

On the tenth day of Beijing's martial law in May 1989, Tiananmen Square fell into a state of chaos and dying. The students were in a dilemma. More than 20 students from eight universities including the Central Academy of Fine Arts, the Central Academy of Drama, and the Central Academy of Arts and Crafts were awake for three days and three nights. The goddess of democracy that was rushed out has inspired the hearts of the people. On the evening of May 29, under the escort of thousands of citizens, the statue was transported to Tiananmen Square in four parts by tricycle. After 16 hours of installation and processing, at noon on May 30, the statue of God stood upright in Tiananmen Square, only 300 meters away from the statue of Mao Zedong on the tower, facing away. The students pointed out in the "God of Democracy" manifesto that the Goddess of Democracy is a symbol of this movement, dedicated to the students on hunger strike in the square and the people participating in the democratic movement.

The goddess of democracy is about ten meters high, and the inner mold of the statue is made of foam plastic and the outer layer of plaster. The deity's appearance is quite neutral, with a delicate face, short hair fluttering, wearing a robe, and holding a torch in both hands. It is said that the statue was created in the image of Zhang Zhixin, a political prisoner during the "Cultural Revolution". According to "The People Will Not Forget", some students who participated in the production of the statues confessed that the design of the Statue of Democracy refers to the Statue of Liberty in the US The Lady Liberty stretched her right hand and held the torch high, and her left hand was holding a book. The book said that the day of American independence was a declaration of victory; the Goddess of Democracy held the torch tightly with her hands slightly bent, showing a sense of perseverance, expressing double courage and strength Strive for freedom and democracy. The erection of the statues of the gods made the square boil again. Hundreds of thousands of citizens clamored to see the goddess style and spontaneously guarded the statues, which also attracted strong official backlash. The Beijing Tiananmen Management Committee issued a statement, alleging that the statue of the goddess erected in the square was “insulting and trampling on the dignity of the country and the image of the nation”. The People's Daily published an article criticizing it for three consecutive days from May 31 to June 2.

Five days later, on June 4, the People's Liberation Army tanks drove into Tiananmen Square to clear the ground. The statue of the Goddess of Democracy was overthrown by the tank and was slaughtered along with countless protesters. Although the statue of the Goddess of Democracy in Tiananmen Square was ruthlessly destroyed after only "surviving" for a few days, it quickly spread everywhere.

"resurrection".

In 2010, Chen Weiming made a 6.4-meter-high statue of the Goddess of Democracy with glass fiber reinforced plastic. He held a torch in one hand and a book with the words "Freedom, Democracy and Justice" in the other. It was exhibited in Times Square, Causeway Bay, Hong Kong. However, it was confiscated by the police before it was erected, causing public outrage. After several protests, the statue finally settled in the Chinese University of Hong Kong and gradually integrated into various student protests. So far, the statue of the goddess has surpassed the single historical event commemorating the "June 4th" and has become a mark of the pursuit of freedom and justice. Later, the footprint of the goddess of democracy became wider and wider, but when she entered Taiwan's Kinmen in 2012, she encountered obstacles. Chen Weiming

Zeng and the Kinmen government signed an agreement to jointly invest in the establishment of a 64-meter-high statue of the Goddess of Democracy on the coast of Kinmen to commemorate the "June 4th Movement" and demonstrate Taiwan's role as China's "democracy beacon". However, the contract was stopped less than a day after it took effect. At that time, Ma Ying-jeou's government was accused of succumbing to Beijing's pressure and breaking the contract.

On June 4, 2015, the second statue of the Goddess of Democracy made by Chen Weiming was unveiled in Sydney, Australia, and was collected by Ashfield Uniting Church in Sydney. In the 2016 "Chinese Communist National Terrorism Atrocities Exhibition and Commemoration of the 27th Anniversary of June 4th" event, Chen Weiming started from May 14th with his third statue of the Goddess of Democracy from Los Angeles, touring exhibitions in more than a dozen cities in the United States , A journey of more than 10,000 kilometers, arrived in the capital Washington on June 4th on the 27th anniversary of June 4th. The touring exhibition also showed more than one hundred pictures and videos, exposing the CCP’s crime of trampling on human rights in China.

And remind the American people to be wary of the expansion of CCP’s state terrorism.

Chen Weiming’s overall plan is to surround China with the statue of the goddess of democracy. He said that China is now at a crossroads in history. The whole change is very big. The domestic democratic movement is surging, and the activities of human rights activists, lawyers, intellectuals, and the people at the bottom are like Volcanoes are going to erupt. As overseas people, we can only use our own power to propagate, in the form of art, with the torch of the goddess of democracy, hoping to ignite and lead China to a democratic and civilized society. "He envisioned that the statue of the goddess of democracy that fell on Tiananmen Square would be made into an 89.64-meter-high goddess of democracy, where it fell, on the day of Chinese democracy, and transported it back to the motherland.

页面背景.jpg

《民主女神像》(“Liberty Goddess Statue”),圆雕,是艺术家以六四民主女神像为蓝本进行的创作。首作创于2010 年,香港中文大学收藏;第二尊雕像为悉尼内西阿什菲尔德联合教堂(Ashfield Uniting Church)收藏,高3.2米;自由雕塑公园所立的是陈维明创作的第三尊雕像,总高6.4 米。

1989 年5 月,北京戒严第十天,天安门广场陷入混乱凋零的状态,学生进退两难,由中央美术学院、中央戏剧学院、中央工艺美术学院等八所院校20 多名学生三天三夜不眠不休赶制出的民主女神,振奋了人心。5 月29 日晚,在数千名市民护送下,雕像分四个部分用三轮车运抵天安门广场。进过16 小时装嵌加工,5 月30 日中午,神像挺立于天安门广场,与城楼上毛泽东像相距仅三百米,遥遥对峙。学生在《民主之神》宣言指出,民主女神像是这次运动的象征,奉献给在广场绝食的学生以及参与民主运动的民众。

民主女神高约十米,雕像内模为泡沫塑料,石膏外层。神像外形颇为中性,脸形清秀,短发飘扬,身披长袍,双手高举火炬。有说雕像是按“文革”期间政治犯张志新的形象创作。据《人民不会忘记》,有参与制作神像的学生不讳言,民主女神像的设计参考美国的自由女神像。自由女神右手伸直高举火炬,左手拥书,书上写着美国独立的日子,是一个胜利宣言;民主女神则双手微弯紧握火炬,展现出一份坚毅,表示要以双倍勇气和力量争取自由民主。神像的竖立使广场再度沸腾起来,数十万巿民争睹女神风采,自发守护神像,也引来官方强烈反弹。北京市天安门管理委员会发表声明,指在广场内耸立女神像是“对国家尊严与民族形象的污辱与践踏”,《人民日报》于5 月31 日至6 月2日连续三天发表文章抨击。

五日后的6 月4 日,解放军坦克开进天安门广场血腥清场,民主女神像被坦克推倒辗碎,与无数抗争者一同遭到屠杀。天安门广场的民主女神像虽然只“存活”数天就被无情摧毁,但迅即在各地

“复活”。

2010 年,陈维明以玻璃钢制成了连基座高6.4 米的民主女神像,一手高举火炬,一手拥着写上“自由、民主、公义”的书本,在香港铜锣湾时代广场展出。但还未竖立就被警方没收,引起公愤,经几番抗争活动,塑像最后落户香港中文大学,并逐渐融入后来学生的各种抗议活动。至此,女神像也超越了纪念“六四”单一历史事件,成为追求自由与公义的标记。随后民主女神的足迹愈走愈广,但2012 年进入台湾金门之时却遇阻碍。陈维明

曾和金门政府签订协议,双方合作投资在金门海岸线上建立一座64 米高的民主女神像,以纪念“六四”并彰显台湾作为中国“民主灯塔”的作用。然而合约生效不到一天就被喊停,当时马英九政府被指屈从北京压力而毁约。

2015 年6 月4 日陈维明制作的第二尊民主女神像于澳洲悉尼揭幕,被悉尼内西阿什菲尔德联合教堂(Ashfield Uniting Church)收藏。在2016 年“中共国家恐怖主义暴行展暨纪念六四27 周年”活动中,陈维明自5 月14 日开始,带着他的第三尊民主女神雕像从洛杉矶启程,在美国十几个城市巡回展览,行程一万多公里,于6 月4 日“六四27 周年纪念日”到达首都华盛顿。巡回展还展示了一百多张图片和视频,揭露中共在国内践踏人权的罪

行,并提醒美国人民警惕中共国家恐怖主义向外扩张。

陈维明的整体计划是用民主女神像包围中国,他说,中国现在走到历史的十字路口,整个变化非常之大,在国内民主运动风起云涌,维权人士、律师、知识分子、底层老百姓的活动,像火山一样要喷发出来。作为海外人士,我们只能用自己的力量宣传,用艺术的形式,用民主女神的火炬,希望点燃引导中国走向民主、文明的社会。”他设想把这个天安门倒下的民主女神像,做成高89.64 米的民主女神,在它倒下的地方,在中国民主的一天,把它运回祖国。

© 2021 by Liberty Sculpture Park